Skip to content

Walking Down Memory Lane

August 31, 2013

Visited Beauty World Centre today after a really  long time. 

This was a place which i would visit often during my school days when i used to live in that vicinity. I was surprised that some of the shops which i recognised from before were still there.  A kind of nostalgia overcame me. I went inside The Grassland book store which was at the basement of the building. I remember me and my bros used to go there to look at the stationery, toys and also at the magazines. The store was still pretty much the same, selling all the nice things, offering so much more than most commercial stationery shops out there and in a limited space too. I overheard the boss saying to one lady that  his is a small business and he doesn’t have NETS service, only accept cash. Maybe it was the feeling of my childhood coming to me, i really enjoyed myself there. 

Visiting Beauty World Centre feels like a blast into the past. The shops are catered mainly for the older crowd and it is looking past its heydays. However there are many new education and tuition places which draws the schoolkids and sort of compensates for the stagnant vibes. The place seems disconnected. Some other oddities i noticed was an ‘Ang Moh’ security guard and one young Malay guy who was casually sitting and playing his guitar by the escalator. 

At the pace of how Singapore is developing and has developed, it feels like we are devoid of a past. Buildings get torn down to make way for new ones at quite a fast rate. Many a times we don’t remember what used to be there. It feels like the past lies only in photographs of textbooks for the new generation. I find the generation gap between the older generation here and the young is too huge. With the change in physical and societal landscape, the old are desperately trying to catch hold of memories of the fleeting past while the young are living like there’s no tomorrow. How can we balance this disparity between generations and also our own disparity of our inner growth with that of outside? As i write this , i hear the lyrics of a song “You gotta show love. This is the way.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2013 3:13 pm

    Know the feelings you’re talking about. When I visited my birth country for the first time in 40 years I felt so much at home because there were many places just like I remembered them. It made my heart sing. Had gone there thinking I’d not recognise anything but in fact there was so much I did recognise. I felt so connected. One of the aspects of showing love is about showing sensitivity towards what others’ might like and therefore, the Singaporean Govt. could show its love for its people by blending the new with the old – building continuity – rather than tearing down the old to make way for the new.

  2. August 31, 2013 11:02 pm

    thanks for your enlightening comments sister greta! sadly the priority of our govt is economic development…however these days there is growing dissent in the people and things are starting to change….

Leave a Reply

