Skip to content

上班族Blues

June 19, 2013

A chinese poem about dreading work and longing for freedom…

 

上班族Blues

早上的半睡半醒状态

是不是因为阳光无法照射进来

紧张的节奏每天上演

搭计程车上班希望能快到一点

工作很无趣,老板的脸色令我恐惧

面对电脑发呆,时间真的很难埃

干吗这么拼学我忙里偷闲

享受一杯下午茶听音乐改变心情

六点钟声一响,一天的期盼总算来临

像囚鸟被释放,渴望的自由多么短暂!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2013 10:18 am

    I’ve been meaning to respond to this for a while.. it’s something very important to me too. If I can’t be happy at work then I’m being unhappy for a large part of my life. So it’s very important to find some way to be happy at work..

    It’s still an unresolved issue so far though 🙂 But not one I’ve given up on.

    Freedom should be possible within the constraints of needing money (or wanting money) .. it’s just a question of finding a way that works.

  2. July 22, 2013 12:05 am

    hey brian…you have changed your blog?
    ya i feel the same way too….work is something which still bothers me…i don’t think i will ever get used to it…so just trying to be positive and make it interesting for myself….working half day is actually ideal but i don’t think it works here….are you still working from home? at least you get to manage your own time!?

  3. July 23, 2013 10:32 am

    It’s not the livejournal anymore, the new one is rather private, I’ll email you the link.

    I work from home 4 days a week and at the office 1 day, which is definitely better than driving to the office every day.. it’s a long drive. And it is good – sometimes I don’t like it because I have to manage my own time, and that requires discipline, but really it gives me a lot more flexibility. It allows me a lot more flexibility in finding ways to keep myself happy throughout each day.

    There’s some things I can’t live without and need to maintain somehow.. one is a feeling of connectedness to other people. Another is a feeling of meaning, as if I’m doing something worthwhile. Those are very important. Then there’s keeping my mood up – if I don’t pay attention and taking action when I start slipping then I’ll get depressed. After that it’s a downwards spiral.

    The challenges I’ve been setting myself on my blog are part of that – the purpose of them is to keep meaning, connectedness and mood all where they should be. It’s also related to the landmark idea of making declarations – by saying what I’m going to do and having it out there in semi-public, I’m much more likely to actually do what I need to do to keep myself happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

